Hero image
(c) Dario Damiano

Projects

Please let me be your project: Festivals, double and triple features, experimental tours of the Droste Museum - this is just a small overview of the projects currently being developed at the Center for Literature.

The 2018 Droste-Days: Come Cross Me

The Space Between Languages, Re: Reading Droste

The Droste Days event has taken place annually at Burg Hülshoff since 2013. Each time, they have presented very diverse, poetic strong and at the same time delicate works that examine the basic themes of the works of Droste-Hülshoff.

In the 2018 edition, COME CROSS ME, here are some of the participants: Volxtheater Bethel with a site-specific theater performance, Peter Waterhouse and Kübra Gümüşay with opening speeches, the Droste lectures with Liat Fassberg, Barbara Köhler and Tilman Ramstedt, poetry films about the poems of Dutch poet Frouke Arns, music-literature performances with Fiston Mwanza Mujila/Patrick Dunst and Cia Rinne, video projections on the facade of the castle by Sven Stratmann as well as a concert by the fantastic band The Dorf and their frontman Jan Klare.


Construction Arena!
A Literary Folk Festival at Burg Hülshoff

Grow Houses!, World Wide World, The Space Between Languages

Starting in 2019, a great deal will be constructed and cultivated on the grounds of Burg Hülshoff: the outer bailey will be transformed into an event and convention center in the coming years.

With Construction Arena!, the Center for Literature invoked construction sites like these - specifically, as well as societal and artistic ones. On the other hand, Construction Arena! includes, of course, displaying, presenting and performing, the big gesture and the even bigger hammer.

Suitably, the festival opened with an oversized inflatable jackhammer created by the artist group Tools For Action, led by Artúr van Balen. The group brought this jackhammer to the park area of Burg Hülshoff. The Munich-based author Andreas Neumeister, an expert for architecture and the art of construction, read from his list-like texts. In addition, there were nearly twenty readings in Fliehenden Bauten series, including Thorsten Nagelschmidt, Katja Lange-Müller, Lucy Fricke and Nora Bossong, a lecture by Marcel Beyer about Karl May and a catwalk performance by dorisdean with text by Elfriede Jelinek.

Come one, come all! Jump into action before action jumps into you! Come to SCHAUSTELLEN! and become a part of things! There is so much to see! And even more to build!


»Sehnsucht in die Ferne«. Reisen mit Annette von Droste-Hülshoff – (Desire in the Distance. Travels with Annette von Droste-Hülshoff) Traveling Exhibition

Re: Reading Droste, World Wide World

An extraordinary exhibition that was presented at Burg Hülshoff in 2017. The visitors traveled with Droste-Hülshoff through the (cultural) landscapes of the early 19th century. In doing so, they learned not only about the living conditions of the time and became acquainted with the literature and letters of the poet; they also got to know her surroundings and her means of transportation: the coach, the steamboat and the railroad. And they learned all of this in an unusual and surprising manner.

The traveling exhibition immersed the visitors in landscapes as Droste-Hülshoff get to know them and described them herself while traveling. Artifacts and manuscripts that have never been presented before were exhibited in exciting multimedia spaces.

The exhibition presented, incorporated within a total of ten landscape and travel architectures, numerous artifacts from the live of Annette von Droste-Hülshoff and her time. Alongside the number of Droste texts set to music recorded especially for the exhibition, the highlight is the place of poetry. In it, a multimedia virtual reality situation invites viewers to immerse themselves in the world of the literature of Droste-Hülshoff.

The exhibition was awarded the 2018 IF-Design Award.

The traveling exhibition »Sehnsucht in die Ferne«. Reisen mit Annette von Droste-Hülshoff (Desire in the Distance: Travels with Annette von Droste-Hülshoffis a project with the following partners: LWL-Literaturkommission für Westfalen, Droste-Forum e.V. (Dr. Jochen Grywatsch); Kreis Paderborn (Andreas Weiß); the city of Paderborn (Dr. Andreas Neuwöhner); the city of Brakel (Dirk Brassel); Droste-Forum e.V. (Dr. Jens Kloster) and was realized by the agency BOK+Gärtner.

Exhibition catalog:
Jochen Grywatsch and Jens Kloster (publishers): Sehnsucht in die Ferne. Reisen und Landschaften der Annette von Droste-Hülshoff. Companion book to the traveling exhibition »Sehnsucht in die Ferne«. Reisen mit Annette von Droste-Hülshoff, Bielefeld: Aisthesis 2017 (= publication of the Literature Commission for Westphalia, volume 74).

Hero image
(c) Dario Damiano

Projekte

Please let me be your project:

Festivals, Double- und Triple-Features, experimentelle Führungen durchs Droste-Museum – eine kleine Übersicht von Projekten, die derzeit am CfL entstehen.

Droste-Tage 2018: Come Cross Me

Zwischensprachen, Re: Reading Droste

Die Droste-Tage finden seit 2013 im jährlichen Rhythmus auf Burg Hülshoff statt. Sie haben jedes Mal ganz unterschiedliche, immer poetische, starke und zugleich feine Arbeiten gezeigt, die sich mit Grundthemen des Werks der Droste-Hülshoff auseinandersetzten.

Unter dem Titel COME CROSS ME sind 2018 dabei: das Volxtheater Bethel mit einer ortsspezifischen Theaterperformance; Peter Waterhouse und Kübra Gümüšay mit Eröffnungsreden; die Droste-Lectures mit Liat Fassberg, Barbara Köhler und Tilman Ramstedt; Poesiefilme zu Gedichten der niederländischen Lyrikerin Frouke Arns; Musik-Literatur-Performances mit Fiston Mwanza Mujila/Patrick Dunst und Cia Rinne; eine Videobespielung der Burgfassaden durch Sven Stratmann; sowie ein Konzert der Großband The Dorf um Jan Klare.

Das ausführliche Programm finden Sie hier.


Schaustellen!

Ein Literaturvolksfest auf Burg Hülshoff

Anbauen!, World Wide World, Zwischensprachen

Auf dem Gelände von Burg Hülshoff wird ab 2019 gebaut und angebaut: Die Vorburg wird in den kommenden Jahren zu einem Veranstaltungs- und Tagungszentrum werden.

Mit SCHAUSTELLEN! ruft das Center for Literature solche Baustellen auf – ganz konkrete, aber auch gesellschaftliche und künstlerische. Zum anderen steckt in SCHAUSTELLEN! – klaro! – das Zurschaustellen, das Präsentieren und Performen, die große Geste und der noch größere Hammer.

Passend dazu eröffnet das Festival mit einem überdimensionalen, aufblasbaren Presslufthammer der Künstlergruppe Tools For Action um Artúr van Balen. Den setzt die Gruppe an die Vorburg von Hülshoff an. Der Münchner Schriftsteller Andreas Neumeister, Experte für Architektur und für Kunst am Bau, liest dazu aus seinen listenartigen Texten. Außerdem erwarten Sie fast zwanzig Lesungen in unseren Fliehenden Bauten, u.a. mit Thorsten Nagelschmidt, Katja Lange-Müller, Lucy Fricke und Nora Bossong, eine Lecture von Marcel Beyer zu Karl May und eine Catwalk-Performance von dorisdean mit Texten Elfriede Jelineks.

Kommen Sie, kommen Sie! Stürzen Sie sich ins Geschehen, bevor sich das Geschehen in Sie stürzt! Betreten Sie die SCHAUSTELLEN! und werden Sie Teil! Es gibt so viel zu schauen! Und noch viel mehr zu bauen!

Das ausführliche Programm finden Sie hier.


„Sehnsucht in die Ferne“. Reisen mit Annette von Droste-Hülshoff – Wanderausstellung

Re: Reading Droste, World Wide World

Ein außergewöhnliches Ausstellungsprojekt, das 2017 auf Burg Hülshoff gastierte. Die Besucher*innen reisen mit der Droste durch die (Kultur-) Landschaften des frühen 19. Jahrhunderts. Dabei lernen sie nicht nur die Lebensumstände, die Literatur und die Briefe der Dichterin kennen, sondern auch ihre Landschaften und ihre Fortbewegungsmittel: die Kutsche, das Dampfboot und die Eisenbahn. Und das alles auf ungewöhnliche und überraschende Weise.

Die Wanderausstellung „Sehnsucht in die Ferne“. Reisen mit Annette von Droste-Hülshoff lässt die Besucher eintauchen in Landschaften, wie Droste sie unterwegs kennenlernte und beschrieb. Präsentiert werden bisher nie gezeigte Exponate und Handschriften in spannenden multimedial inszenierten Räumen.

Die Ausstellung zeigt – eingebunden in insgesamt zehn Landschafts- und Reisearchitekturen – zahlreiche Exponate aus dem Leben der Annette von Droste-Hülshoff und ihrer Zeit. Neben einem umfangreichen, für die Ausstellung eingesprochenen Angebot an vertonten Droste-Texten ist das Highlight der Ort der Poesie. In ihm lädt eine multimediale Virtual-Reality-Installation zum Eintauchen in die Welt der Literatur der Droste ein.

Die Ausstellung wurde mit dem IF-Design-Award 2018 ausgezeichnet.

11086-800x410-q92

Stationen:
Kreismuseum Wewelsburg: Mai – August 2017
Burg Hülshoff, Havixbeck: August – November 2017
Stadtmuseum Brakel: Mai - Juli 2018
Neues Schloss, Meersburg: August 2018 – Februar 2019
Stadtmuseum Paderborn: August – November 2019
Weitere Stationen befinden sich in der Abstimmung.

Die Ausstellung w„Sehnsucht in die Ferne“. Reisen mit Annette von Droste-Hülshoff ist ein Projekt der folgenden Träger: LWL-Literaturkommission für Westfalen, Droste-Forum e.V. (Dr. Jochen Grywatsch); Kreis Paderborn (Andreas Weiß); Stadt Paderborn (Dr. Andreas Neuwöhner); Stadt Brakel (Dirk Brassel); Droste-Forum e.V. (Dr. Jens Kloster) und wurde realisiert durch die Agentur BOK+Gärtner.

Ausstellungskatalog:
Jochen Grywatsch u. Jens Kloster (Hg.): Sehnsucht in die Ferne. Reisen und Landschaften der Annette von Droste-Hülshoff. Begleitbuch zur Wanderausstellung „Sehnsucht in die Ferne“. Reisen mit Annette von Droste-Hülshoff, Bielefeld: Aisthesis 2017 (= Veröffentlichungen der Literaturkommission für Westfalen Bd. 74).