Mit den Gespenstern leben (haunting|heritage)

Video preview image

"Since everywhere is haunted, Hülshoff is now haunted as well." (Annette von Droste-Hülshoff)

Ghosts appear in very different places. They appear where things have remained unfulfilled and do not leave them alone even after their death. This place can be a castle or a house.

Ghosts can haunt us in our minds, such as when deceased family members suddenly come back to life in dreams.

Even great cultural treasures sometimes don't let us go. They reappear again and again in our everyday lives. Many of these ideas and customs don't end, they haunt and occupy us.

That's how we feel here at the Center for Literature with the life and work of poet Annette von Droste Hülshoff. So on the occasion of her 225th birthday in 2022 and the 175th anniversary of her death in 2023, we are questioning her, her spirit, and other ghosts.

»Home is where the haunt is.« (Mark Fisher)

© CfL/Lennart Lofink



For phenomena of haunting and ghost-seeing are also prominent in Droste-Hülshoff's texts: in her, ghosts permeate the world and give us the living a comprehensive sense of how our possessions, privileges, stories, particular language, rituals, and communities came to be.

Yes, a more and more global society is forcing new and old questions on us: How does the past haunt our present? Who does language include, who does it exclude? Who does belonging to the nation make living, who a ghost? These questions are as persistent as hauntings.

We cordially invite everyone to join us on a ghost hunt. For this purpose, we are opening the Droste Lab in the museum. We will playfully explore traumas under the guidance of Studio Marshmallow from Hamburg. And in performances and new texts, we show the power with which language can haunt our reality.

Curatorial team

Jörg Albrecht (CfL); Jenny Bohn (CfL); Dieu Hao Do; Anneke Lubkowitz (CfL); Dan Thy Nguyen & Nina Reiprich (Studio Marshmallow); Dominik Renneke (CfL); Senthuran Varatharajah

Head of Production

Sophia Kisfeld (Overall project) & Sophie Stroux (Die Judenbuche, Novelle by Rimini Protokoll)

Sponsors

Mit den Gespenstern leben (haunting|heritage) is funded by the Federal Cultural Foundation, supported by the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media, by the Ministry of Culture and Science of the State of North Rhine-Westphalia in the funding program »Regional Culture Program NRW«, the Commerzbank Foundation and the Kunststiftung NRW.

Media partners

Mit den Gespenstern leben (haunting|heritage) is presented by taz and kultur.west.

Mit den Gespenstern leben (haunting|heritage)

Gespenster tauchen an ganz verschiedenen Orten auf. Sie erscheinen dort, wo Dinge unerfüllt geblieben sind und ihnen auch nach ihrem Tod keine Ruhe lassen. Dieser Ort kann eine Burg oder ein Haus sein.

Gespenster können uns in unseren Köpfen heimsuchen, etwa, wenn verstorbene Familienmitglieder in Träumen plötzlich wieder lebendig sind.

Auch große kulturelle Schätze lassen uns manchmal nicht los. Sie tauchen immer wieder in unserem Alltag auf. Viele dieser Ideen und Gebräuche sind nicht zu Ende, sie spuken herum und beschäftigen uns.

So geht es uns hier im Center for Literature mit Leben und Werk der Poetin Annette von Droste Hülshoff. Anlässlich ihres 225. Geburtstags in 2022 und ihres 175. Todestags in 2023 befragen wir daher sie, ihren Spirit und weitere Geister.

»Home is where the haunt is.« (Mark Fisher)

© CfL/Lennart Lofink



Denn auch in Droste-Hülshoffs Texten sind Phänomene von Spuk und Geisterseherei prominent: Bei ihr durchdringen Gespenster die Welt und geben uns Lebenden ein umfassendes Gefühl davon, wie es zu unserem Besitz, unseren Privilegien, unseren Geschichten, zu einer bestimmten Sprache, zu unseren Ritualen und Gemeinschaften gekommen ist.

Ja, eine mehr und mehr globale Gesellschaft drängt uns neue und alte Fragen auf: Wie sucht die Vergangenheit unsere Gegenwart heim? Wen schließt die Sprache ein, wen aus? Wen macht die Zugehörigkeit zur Nation zum Lebenden, wen zum Gespenst? Diese Fragen sind beharrlich wie Spuk.

Wir laden alle herzlich ein, mit auf die Geistersuche zu gehen. Dazu eröffnen wir das Droste Lab im Museum. Wir erkunden spielerisch Traumata unter Anleitung des Hamburger Studio Marshmallow. Und wir zeigen in Performances und neuen Texten, mit welcher Kraft Sprache durch unsere Wirklichkeit geistern kann.

Kuratorisches Team

Jörg Albrecht (CfL); Jenny Bohn (CfL); Dieu Hao Do; Anneke Lubkowitz (CfL); Dan Thy Nguyen & Nina Reiprich (Studio Marshmallow); Dominik Renneke (CfL); Senthuran Varatharajah

Produktionsleitung

Sophia Kisfeld (Gesamtprojekt) & Sophie Stroux (Die Judenbuche, Novelle von Rimini Protokoll)

Förderer

Mit den Gespenstern leben (haunting|heritage) wird gefördert durch die Kulturstiftung des Bundes, gefördert von der Beauftragten der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien, durch das Ministerium für Kultur und Wissenschaft des Landes NRW im Förderprogramm »Regionale Kulturpolitik«, die Commerzbank-Stiftung und die Kunststiftung NRW.