DROSTE DIGITAL
Handschriften - Räume - Installationen

DROSTE DIGITAL
Handschriften - Räume - Installationen

Opening on 15. September 2022

Run time: 16.09.2022 – 30.09.2023

Exhibition at Burg Hülshoff, Havixbeck near Münster

For the first time, an exhibition makes the digitized manuscripts of the poet Annette von Droste-Hülshoff accessible. At Hülshoff Castle, the poet's birthplace, experience the cosmos of her microscopic manuscripts. On the upper floor of the castle, which will be open to the public for the first time, you can discover six new rooms. In order to bring the manuscripts into the present, we have invited writers and artist* collectives to engage with the text images and create individual rooms.

The selected manuscripts belong to the Meersburg estate, which, with 1500 pages of text, comprises approximately two-thirds of the writer's entire estate. This outstanding cultural treasure consists of very different types of texts, for example fair copies of and drafts of poems, collections of motifs, letters as well as notes, receipts and lists. The estate belongs to the Prussian Cultural Heritage Foundation, is administered by the Berlin State Library, and has been comprehensively digitized for the first time by the LWL Archive Office for Westphalia. These digitized files form the basis for the exhibition DROSTE DIGITAL.

Digitalisiertes Handschriften-Manuskriptblatt zur Motivsammlung Die Judenbuche. Signatur: 1064_MA II 3_001
Digitalisiertes Handschriften-Manuskriptblatt Motivsammlung »Die Judenbuche« © LWL-Archivamt für Westfalen



The manuscripts selected by the artists belong to the Meersburg estate, one of the outstanding cultural treasures of North Rhine-Westphalia. The approximately 1500 pages of text comprise about two-thirds of the writer's entire estate. They consist of very different types of texts, for example fair copies of and drafts of poems, collections of motifs, letters as well as notes, receipts and lists. The estate is owned by the Prussian Cultural Heritage Foundation and administered by the Berlin State Library. It has been extensively digitized by the LWL Archive Office for Westphalia and forms the basis for Droste Digital.

» […] Fühlst du das Herz in dir, nicht heiß
Doch ehrlich, uns entgegen schlagen,
Dein Wort kein falsch und trügend Gleis,
Befleckend was die Lippen tragen, […]«

— aus »Ungastlich oder nicht?« von Annette von Droste-Hülshoff



The author Dorothee Elmiger deals with the collection of motifs for The Jewish Book and designs Drostes' father's study. The writer and poet Nora Gomringer deals with the early work Bertha. Or the Alps and transforms Drostes' children's and youth room. Almut Pape and Emese Bodolay from the artists' collective Anna Kpok process the poem cycle Sounds from the Orient in the Attic. The international artist collective Hyphen-Labs (Ece Tankal and Carmen Aquilar y Wedge) deals with the relationship between nature and culture in the former bathroom based on the poem cycle The Elements.

Two other rooms introduce the topic of digitized manuscripts, including the process of digitization itself, but also how the pages filled up during Droste's writing process. An app accompanies the exhibition and expands the historical rooms.


The exhibition Droste Digital is an in-house production of Burg Hülshoff - Center for Literature and is funded by the LWL Cultural Foundation and the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media in the program "Digitization in Culture and the Media".

foerderer_dd

In cooperation with the Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin, the LWL Literature Commission for Westphalia, the LWL Archive Office, the Literaturmuseum der Moderne - Deutsches Literaturarchiv Marbach, Burg Vischering and the cultural estate Haus Nottbeck.

Presented by Westfälische Nachrichten and kultur.west.

medienpartner_dd

DROSTE DIGITAL
Handschriften - Räume - Installationen

DROSTE DIGITAL
Handschriften - Räume - Installationen

Eröffnung am 15. September 2022

Laufzeit: 16.09.2022 – 30.09.2023

Ausstellung auf Burg Hülshoff, Havixbeck bei Münster

Zum ersten Mal macht eine Ausstellung die digitalisierten Handschriften der Dichterin Annette von Droste-Hülshoff zugänglich. Erlebt auf Burg Hülshoff, dem Geburtsort der Poetin, den Kosmos ihrer mikroskopisch kleinen Handschriften. Auf der Burg könnt ihr sechs neue Räume entdecken. Um die Handschriften in die Gegenwart zu holen, haben wir Schriftstellerinnen und Künstler*innen-Kollektive eingeladen, sich mit den Textbildern zu beschäftigen und einzelne Räume zu gestalten.

Die ausgewählten Handschriften gehören zum Meersburger Nachlass, der mit 1500 Textseiten ungefähr zwei Drittel des gesamten Nachlasses der Schriftstellerin umfasst. Der herausragende Kulturschatz besteht aus sehr unterschiedlichen Textsorten, zum Beispiel Reinschriften von und Entwürfe zu Gedichten, Motivsammlungen, Briefe sowie Notizen, Quittungen und Listen. Der Nachlass gehört der Stiftung Preußischer Kulturbesitz, wird verwaltet von der Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin und wurde vom LWL-Archivamt für Westfalen erstmals umfassend digitalisiert. Diese Digitalisate bilden die Grundlage für die Ausstellung DROSTE DIGITAL.

Digitalisiertes Handschriften-Manuskriptblatt zur Motivsammlung Die Judenbuche. Signatur: 1064_MA II 3_001
Digitalisiertes Handschriften-Manuskriptblatt Motivsammlung »Die Judenbuche« © LWL-Archivamt für Westfalen



Die Autorin Dorothee Elmiger befasst sich mit der Motivsammlung zur Judenbuche und gestaltet das Studierzimmer von Drostes Vater. Die Schriftstellerin und Lyrikerin Nora Gomringer setzt sich mit dem Frühwerk Bertha. Oder die Alpen auseinander und verwandelt Drostes Kinder- und Jugendzimmer. Almut Pape und Emese Bodolay vom Künstler*innen-Kollektiv Anna Kpok machen aus dem Gedichtzyklus Klänge aus dem Orient eine begehbare Landschaft, die Teil eines ganzen Orient-Kosmos der Droste ist. Das internationale Künstlerinnen-Kollektiv Hyphen-Labs (Ece Tankal und Carmen Aguilar y Wedge) befasst sich ausgehend vom Gedichtzyklus Die Elemente mit dem Verhältnis von Natur und Kultur im einstigen Badezimmer.

» […] Fühlst du das Herz in dir, nicht heiß
Doch ehrlich, uns entgegen schlagen,
Dein Wort kein falsch und trügend Gleis,
Befleckend was die Lippen tragen, […]«

— aus »Ungastlich oder nicht?« von Annette von Droste-Hülshoff

In zwei weiteren Räumen wird in das Thema der digitalisierten Handschriften eingeführt, unter anderem wird der Prozess der Digitalisierung selbst beleuchtet, aber auch wie sich die Seiten beim Schreibprozess der Droste gefüllt haben. Eine App begleitet die Ausstellung und erweitert die historischen Räume.


Die Ausstellung Droste Digital ist eine Eigenproduktion von Burg Hülshoff – Center for Literature und wird gefördert durch die LWL-Kulturstiftung und die Beauftragte der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien im Programm »Digitalisierung in Kultur und Medien«.

foerderer_dd

In Kooperation mit der Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin, der LWL-Literaturkommission für Westfalen, dem LWL-Archivamt, dem Literaturmuseum der Moderne – Deutsches Literaturarchiv Marbach, Burg Vischering und dem Kulturgut Haus Nottbeck.

kooperationen_dd

Präsentiert von Westfälische Nachrichten und kultur.west.

medienpartner_dd