2022

How do we shape a society in which not only one language is spoken? How do we develop traditions and cultural heritage for the future? And how do we do all this without unnecessarily polarizing? How do we engage in dialogue with each other in a constructive way despite all the differences? How is the planet changing due to warming and species extinction? What is digital transformation doing to us?
In 2022, we want to search with you for words for the change we are experiencing.
Here is an overview of our projects:

Anniversary: 225 Years of Annette von Droste-Hülshoff

Eine Wand mit Portraits im Haus Rüschhaus
© Münsterland e.V./Foelting

In 2022, the poet would have turned 225. To mark the occasion, we are taking a closer look at her writing and life:
In the Droste Festival this year, we are following the borderlines of city and country.
We are continuing the translation laboratory Trans|Droste: a collective of translators will be devoting themselves to important texts from the work and translating them into Arabic, English, Farsi, French, Kûrmanci and Turkish.
For the museums, digital mediation formats are being created with the Droste Pad for a shared engagement from here and everywhere.
The special exhibition Droste Digital makes the manuscripts of Annette von Droste-Hülshoff accessible to the public for the first time in digitized form. The exhibition on the upper floor of Hülshoff Castle stages manuscripts from the poet's extensive estate in newly designed museum spaces - the living spaces of Annette von Droste-Hülshoff - in a playful and intermedial way.

Follow this link to the current exhibitions at Burg Hülshoff and Haus Rüschhaus
Performance von Edgar Wallace 2021
© CfL/Lennart Lofink

Ghosts haunt the project from now on Living with the ghosts (haunting|heritage) through the program.
In Drost's texts, phenomena of haunting and ghost-seeing are set prominently. They give us the living a sense of how our privileges, our stories, a particular language, our rituals and communities came to be. We cordially invite all to join us on our spirit quest.
To that end, the Droste Lab: a shared playground to transform the museums and conjure up a ghost or two. Studio Marshmallow takes us through the stages of trauma recovery. And in performances we experience the power with which language can haunt our reality.
Among others, three very different readings of the text The Jew' Beech will be staged: by the well-known directing collective Rimini Protokoll (Helgard Haug/Daniel Wetzel), by video artist Daniel Laufer, and by the performance group dorisdean.

Houseartists

Next novelty: For the first time we welcome four permanent house artists. Their working methods, their thoughts, their languages will accompany us significantly over the next two years. Their ideas and formats will be implemented in various arts and media, in the spirit of Droste-Hülshoff. They will engage with the place and its history, present and future, and continue to work on this special place for a multi-voiced literature.
Welcome, Çakey Blond, Andreas Bülhoff, Mithu Sanyal,Franziska Winkler/handverlesen!

Portraits der Hauskünstler des Burg Hülshoff - Center for Literature
From top left to bottom right: Çakey Blond (Foto © Alexander Schneider); Franziska Winkler (Foto © Valeska Hoischen); Mithu Sanyal (Foto © Regentaucher); Andreas Bülhoff (© Kirchlechner)
More about the houseartists in their studio at Digitale Burg

Workshops and Conferences: Networking and Queer lesen

Radtour auf Burg Hülshoff
© CfL/Jill Albanico

In 2022, we will also strengthen connections: In the project Against all odds - New Alliances, we are developing workshops together with artists, initiatives and associations. These workshops address an important issue in our democratic society: making inequalities visible.
In this context, we ask in April in the think tank on the topic of norm & melancholy what it means to live differently than many others do and expect from us.
We take the 50th anniversary of the first demonstration for the rights of homosexuals in the Federal Republic, which took place in Münster, as an occasion for the series Queer lesen: Performances, readings, network meetings and digital talks revolve around queer literature and corporealities.

Sustainability and Ecology: the college Gegenwartserde.

Gegenwartserde 2 in 2021 des CfL
© CfL/Lennart Lofink

In 2021 we started the series Gegenwartserde started: Who on this planet is talking about man-made climate change? Who is coining the terms? And who is affected by the consequences?
In 2022, we will establish a network with partners from Münster, Dortmund, Berlin, Vienna, and Rotterdam: the Kollegium Gegenwartserde. Together we will explore the interconnectedness of global warming and the past and present of colonial action.
But how do we come to sustainable forms of events ourselves? It starts with the way: How am I supposed to get out to Burg Hülshoff without a car? In a Summer School with the poet Christoph Szalay we develop formats around cycling and walking.

mitlesen!: Participatory Projects

Performance von Edgar Wallace 2021
© CfL/Lennart Lofink

All of these projects are accompanied by our participatory projects in which people of all ages can take part: the Lesebürger*innen/reading citizens and the Junge Burg - digitally and in the form of a presence on site.
The Lesebürger*innen welcomes everyone who has a desire for literature and a dialog about it. In 2022, we'll start talking about ways to get involved and your ideas: from Droste Map to read-along sessions to an Escape Room in the Droste Museum.
And there are also numerous offers for the Junge Burg: digital workshops, school projects and the development of a performative guided tour through the Rüschhaus.
For all those who also work in the field of participation in art and culture, we continue our Open Space with impulse lectures and talks.

Explore the Lesebürger*innen's 2D landscape

Residencies

Garten des Westopia Festivals 2021
© CfL/Kim Wilfriedsson

Of course, in 2022 we will continue the Residency Program with the Cologne Academy of Media Arts (KHM). Six fellows will come to Münster and Havixbeck for two months each during the course of the year. They will work here on novel manuscripts, poetry collections, pop songs or installations.
In web residencies at the Digital Castle, actors will explore what art in digital space can look like.

Publications

Das WORD Magazin
© CfL/Lennart Lofink

Since 2019, we have been publishing writings in the foundation's own publishing house Burg Hülshoff - Center for Literature. At the beginning of the year, there appeared From Westfailure to Westopia. a travel journal by the project on multilingualism and polyphony from 2021, The White White West?. Furthermore we publish the script booklets. They reproduce texts that were heard or created during the events.
In collaboration with the KHM we continue to develop our magazine WORD., which presents our topics in a mixture of strong texts and picture series.

Furthermore, there is also a diverse program with different series in 2022:

  • the open meeting The castle invites for a chat.
  • the series Projektionen with film screenings in the Digitalen Burg
  • the zwischen/miete nrw - together with Literaturhaus Bonn and Tilman Strasser
  • the filmclub münster - together with Filmwerkstatt Münster, Westfälischer Kunstverein and Münsterschen Filmtheater-Betrieben
  • the series of talks Auf ein Wort about (literary) magazines and the people behind them.
Join us!

Join us in the search for words for change!


Tickets for CfL events are available online in our ticket shop as well as at the following sellers:

WN-Ticket-Shop, Westfälische Nachrichten
Picassoplatz 3, 48143 Münster

Green Hell Records GmbH & Co. KG
Winkelstr.10, 48143 Münster

Buchhandlung der Wunderkasten
Rüschhausweg 6, 48161 Münster

Reisebüro Hülsmann
Westfalenstr. 159, 48165 Münster-Hiltrup

Tickets are also available on site, usually one hour before the event starts. Please note the registration information for the respective event in the calendar. Due to capacity reasons, prior registration may be required.


Do you have any questions? Then feel free to ask them at any time: cfl(@)burg-huelshoff.de.

We are looking forward to meeting you!

Förderer

The work of Burg Hülshoff - Center for Literature is permanently supported by the Landschaftsverband Westfalen-Lippe, the Ministry of Culture and Science of the State of North Rhine-Westphalia and the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media. Many other sponsors make the program of the year 2022 possible. The credits can be found in each case at the projects and events.

2022

Wie gestalten wir eine Gesellschaft, in der nicht nur eine Sprache gesprochen wird? Wie entwickeln wir Traditionen und kulturelles Erbe für die Zukunft weiter? Und wie tun wir dies alles, ohne unnötig zu polarisieren? Wie führen wir trotz aller Verschiedenheiten einen Dialog miteinander und konstruktiv? Wie verändert sich der Planet durch Erwärmung und Artensterben? Was macht digitale Transformation mit uns?
Im Jahr 2022 möchten wir mit euch nach Worten für den Wandel suchen, den wir erleben.
Es folgt ein Überblick unserer Projekte:

Jubiläumsgeburtstag: 225 Jahre Annette von Droste-Hülshoff

© Münsterland e.V./Foelting

2022 wäre die Dichterin 225 Jahre alt geworden. Aus diesem Anlass nehmen wir ihr Schreiben und Leben unter verschiedene Lupen:
Im Droste Festival folgen wir in diesem Jahr den Grenzlinien von Stadt und Land.
Wir führen das Übersetzungslabor Trans|Droste fort: Ein Kollektiv von Übersetzer*innen widmet sich wichtigen Texten aus dem Werk und überträgt sie in die Sprachen Arabisch, Englisch, Farsi, Französisch, Kûrmanci, Türkisch.
Für die Museen entstehen mit dem Droste Pad digitale Vermittlungsformate für eine gemeinsame Auseinandersetzung von hier und überall.
Die Sonderausstellung Droste Digital macht zum ersten Mal die Handschriften von Annette von Droste-Hülshoff in digitalisierter Form für das Publikum zugänglich. Die Ausstellung im Obergeschoss der Burg Hülshoff setzt Handschriften aus dem umfangreichen Nachlass der Dichterin in neu gestalteten Museumsräumen - den Lebensräumen von Annette von Droste-Hülshoff - spielerisch und intermedial in Szene.

Hier zu den beiden aktuellen Ausstellungen in den Museen, Burg Hülshoff und Haus Rüschhaus
© CfL/Lennart Lofink

Gespenster spuken von nun an im Projekt Mit den Gespenstern leben (haunting|heritage) durch das Programm.
In Drostes Texten sind Phänomene von Spuk und Geisterseherei prominent gesetzt. Sie geben uns Lebenden ein Gefühl davon, wie es zu unseren Privilegien, unseren Geschichten, zu einer bestimmten Sprache, zu unseren Ritualen und Gemeinschaften gekommen ist. Wir laden alle herzlich ein, mit auf die Geistersuche zu gehen.
Dazu eröffnet das Droste Lab: eine gemeinsame Spielwiese um die Museen umzugestalten und den ein oder anderen Geist heraufzubeschwören. Studio Marshmallow führt durch die Stufen der Traumabewältigung. Und wir erfahren in Performances, mit welcher Kraft Sprache durch unsere Wirklichkeit geistern kann.
Unter anderem werden drei sehr unterschiedliche Lesarten des Textes Die Judenbuche inszeniert: vom bekannten Regiekollektiv Rimini Protokoll (Helgard Haug/Daniel Wetzel), vom Videokünstler Daniel Laufer und der Performancegruppe dorisdean.

Hauskünstler*innen

Nächste Neuheit: Zum ersten Mal begrüßen wir vier feste Hauskünstler*innen. Ihre Arbeitsweisen, ihre Gedanken, ihre Sprachen werden uns in den kommenden zwei Jahren maßgeblich begleiten. Ihre Ideen und Formate werden, ganz im Sinne Droste-Hülshoffs, in verschiedenen Künsten und Medien umgesetzt. Sie werden sich mit dem Ort und seiner Geschichte, Gegenwart und Zukunft auseinandersetzen und weiter an diesem besonderen Ort für eine vielstimmige Literatur arbeiten.
Willkommen, Çakey Blond, Andreas Bülhoff, Mithu Sanyal,Franziska Winkler/handverlesen!

Von links oben nach rechts unten: Çakey Blond (Foto © Alexander Schneider); Franziska Winkler (Foto © Valeska Hoischen); Mithu Sanyal (Foto © Regentaucher); Andreas Bülhoff (© Kirchlechner)
Mehr zu den Hauskünstler*innen in ihrem Studio in der Digitalen Burg.

Workshops und Konferenzen: Netzwerken und Queer lesen

© CfL/Jill Albanico

2022 werden wir auch Verbindungen stärken: Im Projekt Against all odds – Neue Allianzen entwickeln wir gemeinsam mit Künstler*innen, Initiativen und Vereinen Workshops. In ihnen geht es um ein wichtiges Anliegen in unserer demokratischen Gesellschaft: Ungleichheiten sichtbar zu machen.
In diesem Kontext fragen wir im April in der Denkfabrik zum Thema Norm & Melancholie, was es heißt, anders zu leben, als viele andere es tun und von uns erwarten.
Den 50. Jahrestag der ersten Demonstration für die Rechte Homosexueller in der Bundesrepublik, die in Münster stattgefunden hat, nehmen wir zum Anlass für die Reihe Queer lesen: Performances, Lesungen, Netzwerktreffen und digitale Talks drehen sich um queere Literatur und Körperlichkeiten.

Nachhaltigkeit und Ökologie: das Kollegium Gegenwartserde

© CfL/Lennart Lofink

2021 haben wir die Reihe Gegenwartserde begonnen: Wer auf diesem Planeten spricht über den menschengemachten Klimawandel? Wer prägt die Begriffe? Und wer ist von den Folgen betroffen?
2022 knüpfen wir zur Vertiefung ein Netzwerk mit Partnern aus Münster, Dortmund, Berlin, Wien und Rotterdam: das Kollegium Gegenwartserde. Gemeinsam gehen wir der Verflechtung von globaler Erwärmung und der Geschichte und der Gegenwart kolonialen Handelns nach.
Doch wie kommen wir selber zu nachhaltigen Formen von Veranstaltungen? Es fängt schon beim Weg an: Wie soll ich ohne Auto raus zur Burg Hülshoff kommen? In einer Summer School mit dem Lyriker Christoph Szalay entwickeln wir Formate rund um Radfahren und Laufen.

mitlesen!: Partizipative Projekte

© CfL/Lennart Lofink

Begleitet werden all diese Vorhaben von unseren partizipativen Projekten, bei den Menschen jeden Alters teilnehmen können: den Lesebürger*innen und der Jungen Burg – digital und in Präsenz vor Ort.
Bei den Lesebürger*innen sind alle willkommen, die Lust auf Literatur und den Dialog darüber haben. 2022 starten wir mit dem Gespräch über Möglichkeiten der Mitgestaltung und eure Ideen: von Droste Map über Mitleserunden bis hin zu einem Escape Room im Droste-Museum.
Und auch für die Junge Burg gibt es zahlreiche Angebote: digitale Workshops, Schulprojekte und die Entwicklung einer performativen Führung durchs Rüschhaus.
Für alle, die auch im Bereich Partizipation in Kunst und Kultur arbeiten, führen wir unseren Open Space mit Impulsvorträgen und Gesprächen weiter.

Erkundet in einer 2D-Umgebung die Welt der Lesebürger*innen!

Residenzen

© CfL/Kim Wilfriedsson

Klar, auch 2022 setzen wir das Residenzprogramm mit der Kölner Kunsthochschule für Medien (KHM) fort. Sechs Stipendiat*innen werden im Verlauf des Jahres für je zwei Monate Münster und Havixbeck kommen. Sie arbeiten hier an Roman-Manuskripten, Gedichtbänden, Popsongs oder Installationen.
In Web Residencies der Digitalen Burg werden Akteur*innen erforschen, wie Kunst im digitalen Raum aussehen kann.

Publikationen

© CfL/Lennart Lofink

Seit 2019 veröffentlichen wir im stiftungseigenen Verlag Burg Hülshoff – Center for Literature Schriften. Zu Anfang des Jahres erschien dort From Westfailure to Westopia. ein Reisejournal durch das Projekt zu Mehrsprachigkeit und Vielstimmigkeit aus 2021, The White White West?. Weiterhin publizieren wir die Skripthefte. Sie geben Texte wieder, die im Rahmen der Veranstaltungen zu hören waren oder entstanden sind.
In Zusammenarbeit mit der KHM entwickeln wir weiterhin unser Magazin WORD., das unsere Themen in einer Mischung aus starken Texten und Bildstrecken auffächert.

Darüber hinaus gibt es auch 2022 ein vielfältiges Programm mit verschiedenen Serien:

  • der offene Treff Die Burg lädt zum Schnack
  • die Reihe Projektionen mit Filmscreenings in der Digitalen Burg
  • die zwischen/miete nrw – gemeinsam mit Literaturhaus Bonn und Tilman Strasser
  • den filmclub münster – gemeinsam mit der Filmwerkstatt Münster, dem Westfälischen Kunstverein und den Münsterschen Filmtheater-Betrieben
  • die Gesprächsreihe Auf ein Wort rund um (Literatur-)Magazine und die Menschen dahinter
Seid dabei!

Macht euch mit uns auf die Suche nach Worten für den Wandel!


Tickets für Veranstaltungen des CfL sind online in unserem Ticketshop sowie an folgenden Vorverkaufsstellen erhältlich:

WN-Ticket-Shop, Westfälische Nachrichten
Picassoplatz 3, 48143 Münster

Green Hell Records GmbH & Co. KG
Winkelstr.10, 48143 Münster

Buchhandlung der Wunderkasten
Rüschhausweg 6, 48161 Münster

Reisebüro Hülsmann
Westfalenstr. 159, 48165 Münster-Hiltrup

Vor Ort sind ebenfalls Tickets erhältlich, in der Regel eine Stunde vor Veranstaltungsbeginn. Bitte beachtet die Anmeldeinformationen der jeweiligen Veranstaltung im Kalender. Aus Kapazitätsgründen kann eine vorherige Anmeldung erforderlich sein.


Habt ihr Fragen? Dann stellt sie gern jederzeit: cfl(@)burg-huelshoff.de.

Wir freuen uns auf euch!

Förderer

Die Arbeit von Burg Hülshoff – Center for Literature wird dauerhaft gefördert durch den Landschaftsverband Westfalen-Lippe, das Ministerium für Kultur und Wissenschaft des Landes NRW und die Beauftragte der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien. Viele weitere Förderer ermöglichen das Programm des Jahres 2022. Die Credits sind jeweils bei den Projekten und Veranstaltungen zu finden.